Detroit emcee Big Tez talks new mixtape, goals and new company

big tez

We’re at a time in hip hop where plenty of rappers are called, but few are chosen. There are always a ton of artists who feel that they are changing the game and influencing other MC’s, but to really change or impact someone, their lyrics have to be authentic and speak genuine truth.

In Detroit, there are some great underground artists who are striving to make good, lyrically creative music that inspires and elevates others to greatness. Cortez Martin, also known as “Big Tez” is one rapper who is going against the odds of hip hop and promoting positive messages all wrapped within a serious flow. The Detroit native is set to release his third mixtape Boiling Point on May 17. His style has been compared to hip hop heavyweights J. Cole, Wale and Dizzy Wright.

Roots, Rhythm, and Rhyme recently spoke with Big Tez about his new mixtape, his goals as a rapper, and going down a different path in hip hop.

Upcoming Shows

  • Thursday May 1, 2014. “TASTE Talent Showcase” The UntitledBottega 314 E. Baltimore Ave  Detroit, MI 48202
  • Saturday, May 24 2014.  The Bullfrog 15414 Telegraph Rd  Redford Charter Township, MI 48223

                                                                                                                                                        

How long have you been rapping?

I have been rapping since I was in the eighth grade. I did a school project for Black History Month and I was in marching band and my teacher asked me to rap. I didn’t think nothing of it at the time but it spread around the school and we became popular so I had to keep with it. I chose a topic of Harriet Tubman and the feedback I got from the audience was great. I started to see how words can control a crowd and sometimes I just want to walk into a room and have power without doing anything, I want my words to do the moving.

Your new mixtape is called Boiling Point. What can people expect from this new mixtape?

This mixtape is a little different than the other mixtapes I have done. It wasn’t rushed. I consider it to be one hundred percent authentic. I’m not a dope dealer, I’m not the average rapper you are going to hear coming out of Detroit. It’s rejuvenating hip hop, bringing hip hop back in a sense in Detroit.

Where did the title of the mixtape come from?

I was angry when I came up with the name so I figured why not name it boiling point because its a lot of things that I’m tired of. I’m tired of the fabricated music that’s being let loose on the airwaves. There are also some fun songs on there as well, its mainly just me revealing my true thoughts and me saying things that I might not be able to say in terms of talking and song form was the only way to do it.

I put my all into it. It’s all about the content. “‘Don’t Let Go” featuring Maria is probably one of my favorite songs on the mixtape because I’m talking about my mom and its all a true story. I believe its a song a lot of people will be able to relate to.

Tell me about Lyrically Injected Music Group and your involvement with the company?

I created Lyrically Injected Music Group in 2012. I didn’t have anybody in terms of production or management, it was just me. I met my current business partner Jerel Jones through some people, and within the last year we decided to team up.  He invited me onto his radio show a couple times. It was something about him and we were equally determined. We are in the final stages of launching the company. The company is mainly a group of talented minded individuals who use words as art form.

Who are some of your musical influences?

I’m really influenced by the new generation, J Cole, Kendrick Lamar, Dizzy Wright, Chance The Rapper. I like when people step outside of the box and do something different.

What are some of your goals as an artist?

I want to make music that everybody can listen to.  I do use profane language from time to time, but it deals in the context where its being used in a respectful way. I played some sample songs for people over 50 and I got positive feedback from them, which is good because we can’t reach out to the older generation if they feel like everybody is a thug and its about a particular lifestyle that they may not be a part of. For me, its mainly about trying to educate yourself. I had a positive upbringing. I was fortunate to have both my parents and that has a lot to do with my writing process.

Its not about the money, I just want people to appreciate the music, and if I can make an honest living by helping people appreciate music, that’s where I want to be.

You can check out Big Tez’s mixtapes at Dat Piff.

You can check him out on Twitter, Facebok and Instagram  @TeamBigTez 

Big Tez

Leave a Reply

