Gearing up for another musical year

2016 is here and that means there will be plenty more musical memories to be made this year. It’s been a while since I last blogged and I apologize for the long hiatus. I’ve been away from the musical side of things, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t kept my eye on the talent and trends that were hot and not so hot in 2015.drake

Here are a few flashbacks of blog posts I wish I would have written about in 2015:

Is Adele larger than life? British soul singer Adele once again caused a stir when she released the soft ballad “Hello” in October, and fans flocked to buy her album 25 when it was released in November. Tickets to her upcoming tour sold out in cities around the country in a matter of minutes. But, just what is so special about this artist? Whenever there is a British crossover artist who hits it big, all of a sudden their music gets pushed to the front seat of the industry and many other artists who have been trying to get the same attention for years are suddenly pushed to the backseat of the bus.  My friends and I were having a conversation about Adele (via text) and when one of my friends asked me what was so special about Adele, I bluntly responded in all caps “NOTHING.” I am not refuting the fact that Adele is very talented and has star power, but I’m just not convinced that her music or voice is any more special than other artist. I’ll touch on this topic in more detail in a future blog post about British soul music, but just thought I’d put my opinion about Adele out in the open while her music is still being pawned over.

Drake is yet again the most popular rapper of the year Hotline Bling probably was the most popular song in the latter part of 2015. Even my parents knew the song, although they thought the song was called “cell phone.” Drake has continuously been raising the bar with his artistry and making it almost impossible not to have at least three songs in rotation at the same time on radio stations all over the world. He refuses to be called irrelevant in the music industry and I’m excited to hear the new music he puts out in 2016 as well as the collaborations.

Kamasi Washington is one hell of a musician It was earlier this year that I stumbled upon a young tenor kamasi washingtonsaxophonist by the name of Kamasi Washington while listening to Kendrick Lamar’s stellar album To Pimp a Butterfly. The jazz riffs throughout the album were genius, so I just had to find out who was behind those amazing timbres. After doing some research, I discovered that Washington, a fellow South Central L.A. native played a major role in the jazz components of Lamar’s album. Washington’s debut LP The Epic was a refreshing, spiritual, futuristic take on big band jazz that is reminiscent of the music of John Coltrane and Sun Ra. He is definitely a new artist who is here for the long-run. 

2016 Wishes

That Kendrick Lamar wins all 11 Grammy’s he is nominated for.

Maxwell finally releases the followup album to Black Summer’s Night and goes on tour.

Corinne Bailey Rae comes out with a new album.

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Gearing up for another musical year

  1. Glad you’re back!!! Cant wait to read your follow up on Adele (thanks for the shout out by the way lol). Drake is so overrated, in my opinion. You should consider writing just why he’s so popular, but Kendrick and JCole (who are better) aren’t. Is it because Drake is more radio friendly than they are? If anyone can write it you can!

  2. Thanks so much for the support! And yeah I agree J Cole and Kendrick deserve much more publicity and radio play than they get. That would be a great post to compare the artists with Drake. That’s on my list of posts to do.

Leave a Reply

